
Business Opportunities - State statute comparison

Included in the Secretary of State’s (SoS) January 17, 2020 letter to the House Legislative Oversight Committee 
(LOC).  This information was provided in response to the following question in LOC’s December 12, 2019, 
letter to the SoS: “46.  Please provide a list of states that do and do not have statutes similar to South Carolina’s 
statutes related to business opportunities. For states that have similar statutes, please indicate the agency in 
which the attendant responsibilities are located.” 

In addition to providing the information in this document, SoS provided the following response: 
• Please see the table that is provided in Attachment K.
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Business Opportunities by State 

State Business 
Opportunity 
Registration 
Requirement? 

Filing Fee? Agency Notes/Links to Statutes Separate Franchise Registration 
Requirement?  

Alabama None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Alaska Yes Initial: $300.00 
Renewal: $150.00 

AK Dept. of Law 
 

Title 45, Chapter 66- Sale of 
Business Opportunities 
Application 

Not seen 

Arizona None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Arkansas None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

California Yes Initial: $100.00 CA Attorney General 
 

Title 2.7, Contracts for Seller 
Assisted Marketing Plans 

Yes. California Department of Business 
Oversight 

Colorado None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Connecticut Yes Initial: $400.00 
Renewal: $100.00 

CT Department of Banking 
 

Sec. 36b-60 to -79, Connecticut 
Business Opportunity 
Investment Act 

Not seen 

Delaware None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Florida None seen  N/A N/A- see note. Title XXXIII, Chapter 559, Part 
VIII 
No registration, but complaints 
to Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services 

Not seen 

Georgia None seen* N/A* N/A- see note. *Must file Consent to Service 
of Process with Secretary of 
State with filing fee of $10.00. 

Not seen 

Hawaii None seen N/A N/A N/A Yes. Department of Commerce and 
Consumer Affairs, Business Registration 
Division - Securities 

Idaho None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Illinois Yes Initial Application Fee – $300 
Fee to Report a Material Change – $25 

Secretary of State, Securities 
Department 

(815 ILCS 602/Art. 5) Business 
Opportunity Sales Law of 1995 

Yes. Franchise Bureau in the Office of the 
Attorney General 
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http://www.law.state.ak.us/department/civil/consumer/cp_business_opps.html
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#45.66.010
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#45.66.010
http://www.law.state.ak.us/pdf/consumer/busopp-reg-and-renewal.pdf
https://oag.ca.gov/consumers/general/samp
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&division=3.&title=2.7.&part=4.&chapter=&article
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&division=3.&title=2.7.&part=4.&chapter=&article
https://docqnet.dbo.ca.gov/onlinefilingsavailable/
https://docqnet.dbo.ca.gov/onlinefilingsavailable/
https://portal.ct.gov/DOB/Business-Opportunities/Bus-Opps/Guidelines-for-Business-Opportunity-Registration-in-Connecticut
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_672c.htm#sec_36b-60
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_672c.htm#sec_36b-60
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_672c.htm#sec_36b-60
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0500-0599/0559/0559PARTVIIIContentsIndex.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0500-0599/0559/0559PARTVIIIContentsIndex.html
https://www.fdacs.gov/Consumer-Resources/Consumer-Rights-and-Responsibilities/Business-Opportunities
https://www.fdacs.gov/Consumer-Resources/Consumer-Rights-and-Responsibilities/Business-Opportunities
https://www.fdacs.gov/Consumer-Resources/Consumer-Rights-and-Responsibilities/Business-Opportunities
http://consumer.georgia.gov/business-services/multilevel-distribution-business-opportunity-consent-to-service
http://consumer.georgia.gov/business-services/multilevel-distribution-business-opportunity-consent-to-service
http://consumer.georgia.gov/business-services/multilevel-distribution-business-opportunity-consent-to-service
http://cca.hawaii.gov/sec/registration_forms/franchise_filings/
http://cca.hawaii.gov/sec/registration_forms/franchise_filings/
http://cca.hawaii.gov/sec/registration_forms/franchise_filings/
https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/busopp.html
https://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/busopp.html
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs5.asp?ActID=2364&ChapterID=67
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs5.asp?ActID=2364&ChapterID=67
http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/franchise.html
http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/franchise.html


State Business 
Opportunity 
Registration 
Requirement? 

Filing Fee? Agency Notes/Links to Statutes Separate Franchise Registration 
Requirement?  

Annual Renewal Fee – $300  

Indiana Yes Initial Filing Fee- $50.00 
Amendment- $10.00 
Renewal fee- $10.00 

Attorney General, Consumer 
Protection Division 
 

IC 24-5-8 Yes. Secretary of State, Securities Division 

Iowa None seen N/A N/A Title XIII, Chapter 551A Not seen 

Kansas None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Kentucky Yes Initial Fee - $150 
Renewal Fee - $50 
Update Fee - $25 

Attorney General, Division of 
Consumer Protection 
 

KRS Chapter 367, Sections .801 
through .819 

Not seen 

Louisiana No* N/A* N/A- see note. *Must appoint Secretary of 
State as agent for service with 
filing fee of $10.00. 
*May be required to file bond 
with Department of Justice. 
Title 51, Chapter 23 

Not seen 

Maine Yes Registration- $25.00 
Renewal- $10.00 

Maine Department of 
Professional & Financial 
Regulation, Office of Securities 

Title 32, Chapter 69-B Not seen 

Maryland Yes Initial filing- $250 
Amendment to a filing- $50 
Annual Renewal filing- $100 

Attorney General, Securities 
Division 
 

Securities, Franchise and 
Business Opportunity Acts, 
Article 14 

Yes. Attorney General, Securities Division 

Massachusetts None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Michigan None seen Unclear, none seen Attorney General MCL 445.903b A “notice only” state. $250.00 and notice 
to Attorney General, Franchise Section. 

Minnesota Notice only N/A N/A N/A Yes. Commerce Department, Industries & 
Agencies, Securities, Franchises & 
Subdivided Lands 

Mississippi None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Missouri None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 
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https://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/2532.htm
https://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/2532.htm
http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/2019/ic/titles/024#24-5-8
https://www.in.gov/sos/securities/2806.htm
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2020/551A.pdf
https://ag.ky.gov/consumer-protection/business/Pages/default.aspx
https://ag.ky.gov/consumer-protection/business/Pages/default.aspx
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=39092
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=39092
http://legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=104155
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/securities/business_opp.htm
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/securities/business_opp.htm
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/securities/business_opp.htm
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32ch69-Bsec0.html
http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/Securities/fees.aspx
http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/Securities/fees.aspx
http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Securities%20Documents/SecuritiesAct.pdf
http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Securities%20Documents/SecuritiesAct.pdf
http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Securities%20Documents/SecuritiesAct.pdf
http://www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/Securities/fees.aspx
https://www.michigan.gov/ag/0,4534,7-359--41996--,00.html
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(tfohl4kkeygb2umhae4tnj53))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-445-903b
https://www.michigan.gov/ag/0,4534,7-359-81903_83221-198444--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/ag/0,4534,7-359-81903_83221-198444--,00.html
https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/securities/franchises/
https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/securities/franchises/
https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/securities/franchises/


State Business 
Opportunity 
Registration 
Requirement? 

Filing Fee? Agency Notes/Links to Statutes Separate Franchise Registration 
Requirement?  

Montana None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Nebraska Yes Initial filing- $100 
Renewal filing- $50 
Amendment filing- $50 

Department of Banking and 
Finance, Bureau of Securities 
 

Chapter 59, Article 17 Not seen 

Nevada None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

New Hampshire Sometimes* 
(see note) 

N/A N/A- see note. Department of Justice, 
Consumer Protection Bureau 
*New Hampshire does have 
the Distributorship Disclosure 
Act, which requires registration 
of a business opportunity 
involving vending machines, 
racks, display cases, or similar 
devices. 

Not seen 

New Jersey None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

New Mexico None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

New York None seen N/A N/A N/A Yes. Attorney General, Investor 
Protection Bureau 

North Carolina Yes Annual filing fee: $250 
Update of information fee: $250 

Secretary of State 
 

Chapter 66, Article 19 Not seen 

North Dakota None seen N/A N/A N/A Yes. Securities Department 

Ohio None seen N/A N/A ORC Title 13, Chapter 1334 Not seen 

Oklahoma Yes Registration filing fee: $250.00 
Registration renewal fee: $150.00 
Review of sales literature or 
advertising package: $50.00 
Sales report filing fee: $50.00 
Interpretive opinion or no-action 
request: $250.00 

Department of Securities 
 

Sections 801-829 Not seen 
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https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/industries/securities/business-opportunities-franchises
https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/industries/securities/business-opportunities-franchises
https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/about/legal/seller-assisted-marketing-plan-act
https://www.doj.nh.gov/consumer/sourcebook/business-franchise.htm
https://www.doj.nh.gov/consumer/sourcebook/business-franchise.htm
https://ag.ny.gov/franchisors-franchisees
https://ag.ny.gov/franchisors-franchisees
https://www.sosnc.gov/divisions/business_opportunity_sales/general_information
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_66/Article_19.pdf
https://www.nd.gov/securities/franchise-registration
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1334
https://www.securities.ok.gov/corp_fin/Business-Opportunity/
https://www.securities.ok.gov/Act-Rules/Busopp.asp


State Business 
Opportunity 
Registration 
Requirement? 

Filing Fee? Agency Notes/Links to Statutes Separate Franchise Registration 
Requirement?  

Request for order of exemption: 
$250.00 

Oregon None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Pennsylvania None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Rhode Island None seen N/A N/A N/A Yes. Department of Business Regulation 

South Carolina  Initial: $100.00 
Renewal: $100.00 

Secretary of State Title 39, Chapter 37 No 

South Dakota Yes Initial: $100.00 
Renewal: $50.00 

SD Dept. of Labor & Regulation 
 

Chapter 37-25A, Business 
Opportunities 

Yes. Department of Labor & Regulation, 
Division of Insurance- Securities 
Regulation 

Tennessee None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Texas Yes Initial: $195.00 
Exemption Notice: $25.00 

TX Secretary of State 
 

Title 4, Chapter 51, Subchapter 
A 

Not seen 

Utah Yes Seller’s Information filing: $200.00 
Notice of Exemption filing: $100.00 

Department of Commerce, 
Division of Consumer 
Protection 

Title 13, Chapter 15 Not seen 

Vermont None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Virginia None seen N/A N/A Section 59.1-262 to 59.1-269 Yes. State Corporation Commission, 
Division of Securities & Retail Franchising 

Washington Yes Initial: $200.00 
Renewal: $125.00 
Amendment: $30.00 

WA Dept. of Financial 
Institutions 
 

Application 
Chapter 19.110, Business 
Opportunity Fraud Act 

Yes. Department of Financial Institutions 

West Virginia None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

Wisconsin None seen N/A N/A N/A Yes. Department of Financial Institutions 

Wyoming None seen N/A N/A N/A Not seen 

 

Helpful link with more information: "FTC Business Opportunity Rule and State Business Opportunity Laws," Kanouse & Walker, PA, as of 2013. 
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https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/securities/franchising.php
https://sos.sc.gov/services-and-filings/business-opportunities
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t39c057.php#39-57-40
https://dlr.sd.gov/securities/business_opportunity_registration.aspx#law
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=37-25A
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=37-25A
https://dlr.sd.gov/securities/franchise_registration.aspx
https://dlr.sd.gov/securities/franchise_registration.aspx
https://dlr.sd.gov/securities/franchise_registration.aspx
https://www.sos.state.tx.us/statdoc/faqs2700.shtml
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/BC/htm/BC.51.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/BC/htm/BC.51.htm
https://consumerprotection.utah.gov/registrations/businessopps.html
https://consumerprotection.utah.gov/registrations/businessopps.html
https://consumerprotection.utah.gov/registrations/businessopps.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title13/Chapter15/13-15.html
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodepopularnames/business-opportunity-sales-act/
https://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf/bus/franch_regis.aspx
https://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf/bus/franch_regis.aspx
https://dfi.wa.gov/business-opportunities
https://dfi.wa.gov/business-opportunities
https://dfi.wa.gov/sites/default/files/forms/boapplication.pdf
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?Cite=19.110
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?Cite=19.110
https://dfi.wa.gov/franchises
https://www.wdfi.org/fi/securities/franchise/
http://www.kanouse.com/sites/default/files/FTC_Business_Opportunity_Rule_and_State_Business_Opportunity_Laws.pdf



